Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Update for Google Drive

If you use Google Drive a lot in your work, you may have noticed a recent addition - Team Drives.

In the past, If I know that I'm going to be sharing a lot of materials with a certain group of people, say my PLC, I would create a folder and share it with all of the members of the team; doing this means that any materials that are saved to that folder will be automatically shared with the people who have rights to the folder. The one problem with this was that if a team member left for some reason, their documents left too. Team Drives fixes this issue, when a team uses Team Drives, all documentation stays with the drive even if a member leaves.



Just like traditional folders, you can give people a variety of access to the files:

  • Full access: By default, people can manage members, and upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
  • Edit access: Edit all files and upload new files. These people can’t move or delete files.
  • Comment access: Can only comment on all files.
  • View access: Can only view all files.
Show Comments: OR